FTM-4 Participants 
return to FTM-4 HOME

Dr Andrei N. Aleshin     contribution abstract
A.F.Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute
Russian Academy of Sciences
26 Polytechnicheskaya Str.
St.Petersburg, 194021 Russia
TEL:    +(812) 247-9136
FAX:    +(812) 247-1017
e-mail: aleshin@transport.ioffe.rssi.ru

Dr Francois Arnaud d'Avitaya
Professor
CRMC2 - CNRS
Campus de Luminy - Case 913
13288 MARSEILLE CEDEX 9 France
TEL: (33) 91 17 28 08
FAX: (33) 91 41 89 16
email: DAVITAYA@CRMC2.UNIV-MRS.FR

Dr Robert H. Austin   contribution abstract
Professor
Department of Physics
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08544
TEL:   (609)-258-4353)
FAX:   (609)-258-1115)
email:  rha@suiling.princeton.edu

Dr Gregory L Belenky      contribution abstract
Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-2350
TEL:    (631) 632 8397
FAX:    (631) 632 8494
email: garik@ece.sunysb.edu

Dr Jos Benschop   contribution abstract
Vice President, Systems Engineering and Research
ASML
P.O. Box  324
5500 AH Veldhoven
The Netherlands
TEL:  +31 40 2683968
FAX:  +31 40 2685320
e-mail:  jos.benschop@asml.nl

Dr Daniel Bois
Centre de Microelectronique de Provence
av des Anemones, 13541 Gardanne, France
TEL:    33 (0)67 00 13 062
FAX:    33 (0)44 22 16 884
email:      bois@emse.fr
email2:    danielbois@wanadoo.fr

Dr. Enrique Calleja     contribution abstract
ISOM and Dpt. Ingenieria Electronica
ETSI Telecomunicacion
Universidad Politecnica of Madrid
Ciudad Universitaria s/n
28040 Madrid, SPAIN
TEL:  +34 91 3367315
FAX:  +34 91 3367323
email:   calleja@die.upm.es

Dr Sorin Cristoloveanu   contribution abstract
Directeur du Laboratoire de Physique
des Composants a Semiconducteurs
ENSERG, 23, rue des Martyrs, BP 257
38016 Grenoble CEDEX 1 - France
TEL:  33-4-76 85 60 40
FAX:  33-4-76 85 60 70
email:   sorin@enserg.fr
URL:  http://www.enserg.fr/ecole/labos/lpcs/

Dr W. Alan Doolittle  contribution abstract
Assistant Professor
School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
777 Atlantic Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30332-0250
TEL:    (404) 894-9884 (also fax)
email: alan.doolittle@ece.gatech.edu

Dr Mikhail Dorojevets  contribution abstract
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-2350
TEL:    (631) 632 8611
FAX:    (631) 632 8494
email:        midor@ece.sunysb.edu

Dr Michael Dyakonov    contribution abstract
Laboratoire de Physique Mathematique, cc 070
Universite Montpellier II
34095 Montpellier, France
TEL:   (33) 4 67 14 32 52
FAX:   (33) 4 67 14 42 34
email:  dyakonov@lpm.univ-montp2.fr

Dr Alexei L. Efros   contribution abstract
Professor
Department of Physics
University of Utah
115S 1400E Rm. 201
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0830
TEL:    (801) 585-5018
FAX:    (801) 581-4801
email: efros@physics.utah.edu

Dr Jérôme Faist  contribution abstract
Professor, Institut de physique
Rue A.-L. Breguet 1
CH-2000 Neuchâtel
Switzerland
TEL:    +41 032 718 29 11
email:    jerome.faist@unine.ch

Dr Newton C. Frateschi     contribution abstract
T-Networks Inc
6580 Snowdrift Road, Suite 100
Allentown, PA 18106 USA
TEL:    (610) 289 50440 x 1058
email:    NFrateschi@TNetworksinc.com

Dr Ulf Gennser    contribution abstract
Laboratoire de Photonique et de Nanostructures
CNRS-LPN
Route de Nozay
F-91960 Marcoussis, France
TEL:  01 69 63 60 00
FAX:  01 69 63 60 02
email:    ulf.gennser@lpn.cnrs.fr

Dr Claire Gmachl   contribution abstract
Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies
600 Mountain Ave.
Murray Hill  NJ  07974
TEL:    (908) 582 6164
FAX:    (908) 582 4868
email:     cg@lucent.com

Dr Herbert Goronkin     contribution abstract
Director of Research
Motorola Inc.
2100 East Elliot Rd.
AZ34/EL508
Tempe. Arizona 85284
TEL:    (602) 413 5908
FAX:    (602) 413 4278/5934
email: afgv60@email.sps.mot.com

Dr Malcolm L.H. Green      contribution abstract
Professor of Chemistry
Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory
Oxford University
South Parks Road
Oxford,  OX1 3QR, UK
TEL:    +44 (0)1865 272 649
Fax:    +44 (0)1865 272 690
email:    malcolm.green@chemistry.oxford.ac.uk

Dr Martin A. Green   contribution abstract
Director, Centre for Third Generation Photovoltaics
University of New South Wales
School of Electrical Engineering
SYDNEY, N.S.W. 2052, AUSTRALIA
TEL:  +61-2-9385-4018
FAX:  +61-2-9662-4240
Email:     m.green@unsw.edu.au
URL:      http://www.pv.unsw.edu.au

Dr Detlev Grützmacher  contribution abstract
Priv. Doz. Dr. habil.
Laboratory for Micro- und Nanotechnology
Paul-Scherrer-Institut
Würenlingen und Villigen
CH-5232 Villigen-PSI
Switzerland
TEL:    +41 56 310 37 51
FAX:    +41 56 310 26 46
email: detlev.gruetzmacher@psi.ch

Dr Gail Habicht
Vice President for Research
SUNY @ Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3395
TEL:  (631) 632 7932
FAX:  (631) 632 9520
email:    Gail.Habicht@sunysb.edu

Dr Sadiq Hasnain
Acting Director
Institute for Microstructural Sciences
National Research Council of Canada
Ottawa, Canada K1A 0R6
TEL:  (613)993-6040
CELL: (613)292-8477
email:    Sadiq.Hasnain@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr Takeo Hattori   contribution abstract
Professor
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Musashi Institute of Technology
1-28-1 Tamazutsumi, Setagaya-ku
Tokyo 158-8557, Japan
TEL:    +81-3-3703-3111
FAX:    +81-3-5707-2173
email:    hattori@ipc.musashi-tech.ac.jp

Dr Toshiro Hiramoto  contribution abstract
Professor
Institute of Industrial Science, University of Tokyo,
4-6-1 Komaba, Meguro-ku
Tokyo 153-8505 Japan
TEL:    +81-3-5452-6263
FAX:    +81-3-5452-6263
email:    hiramoto@nano.iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp
URL:    http://vlsi.iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp/

Dr Qing Hu     contribution abstract
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Massachussets Institute of Technology
Room 36-465
Cambridge, MA 02139
TEL:   (617) 253-1573
FAX:   (617) 258-7864
email:      qhu@mit.edu

Dr Tetsuhiko Ikegami    contribution abstract
President of University of Aizu
Aizu-Wakamatsu-shi
Fukushima, 965-8580 JAPAN
TEL:   +81-242-37-2525
FAX:   +81-242-37-2528
email:     ikegami@u-aizu.ac.jp

also Trustee of AIST (National Institute
of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)
TEL:    +81-3-5501-0806
FAX:    +81-3-5501-0829
email:    tetsu-ikegami@aist.go.jp

Dr Rita Claudia Iotti    contribution abstract
Politecnico di Torino
Corso Duca degli Abruzzi 24
10129 Torino, Italy
email:     rita.iotti@infm.polito.it

Dr Hiroshi Iwai     contribution abstract
Dept. of Advanced Applied Electronics
Interdisciplinary Graduate School of Science and Technology
Tokyo Institute of Technology
4259 Nagatsuta, Midori-ku
Yokohama, 226-8502, Japan
TEL:  +81-45-924-5471
FAX:  +81-45-924-5487
Email:          h.iwai@ieee.org
Alternative:  iwai@ae.titech.ac.jp

Dr. Erich Kasper   contribution abstract
Professor
Universität Stuttgart
Institut für Halbleitertechnik
Pfaffenwaldring 47
70569 Stuttgart, Germany
Tel: 0049 711 685 8002
Fax: 0049 711 685 8044
email:    kasper@iht.uni-stuttgart.de

Dr Kinam Kim     contribution abstract
Vice President
Advanced Technology Development Team, Memory Division
Device Solution Network
Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd.
Korea
TEL:    82-31-209-6170
FAX:    82-31-209-3274
email:     kn_kim@samsung.com

Dr Carl Kutsche, LtCol, USAF
Chief, Physics and Nanotechnology
European Office of Aerospace Research and Development
Edison House
223 Old Marylebone Road
London, United Kingdom
TEL: +44 207 514 4505
FAX: +44 207 514 4960
email:    carl.kutsche@london.af.mil
Website: www.london.af.mil

Dr Amit Lal     contribution abstract
Assistant Professor
School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Cornell University
402 Phillips Hall
Ithaca, NY. 14853
TEL:    607-255-9374
FAX:    607-254-4565
email:    lal@ece.cornell.edu

Dr Nikolai Ledentsov  contribution abstract
Institut für Festkörperphysik
Sekretariat PN 5-2
Hardenbergstraße 36
10623 Berlin
Germany
TEL:   +49-30-3142-2082
FAX:   +49-30-3142-2569
email:      leden@w422zrz.physik.tu-berlin.de

Dr Mikhail E. Levinshtein   contribution abstract
Ioffe Physico-Technical Inst
26 Polytechnicheskaya St
St Petersburg 194021
Russia
TEL:   (+7-812) 247 9125
FAX:   (+7-812) 247 8640
email:     melev@nimis.ioffe.rssi.ru

Dr Nadia Lifshitz
BioPhotonics Corporation
Long Island High Technology Incubator
25 East Loop Road
Stony Brook, NY 11790-3350
TEL:    (631) 632 1647
FAX:    (631) 632 8529
email:    nadia@ece.sunysb.edu

Dr Edmund Linfield    cotribution abstract
Cavendish Laboratory
Cambridge University
Cambridge CB3 0HE
UK
TEL:    +44 1223 337387
FAX:    +44 1223 337271
email:    ehl10@cam.ac.uk
URL:    http://www-mbe.phy.cam.ac.uk/~Edmund/

Dr H. C. Liu     contribution abstract
National Research Council
Institute for Microstructural Sciences
1500 Montreal Road, Building M-50
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0R6
Canada
TEL:   (+613) 993 3895
FAX:   (+613) 957 8734
e-mail      liu@nrcphy1.phy.nrc.ca

Dr James A. Lott, Lt. Col. USAF   contribution abstract
Professor of Electrical Engineering
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Graduate School of Engineering and Management
Air Force Institute of Technology
AFIT/ENG  BLDG 640
2950 P Street, Wright-Patterson AFB OH 45433-7765
FAX:  (937)656-4055
TEL:  (937)255-3636 ext. 4576
E-mail:   James.Lott@afit.edu

Dr Serge Luryi
Distinguished Professor and Chairman
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-2350
TEL:    (631) 632 8420
FAX:    (631) 632 8494
email: Serge.Luryi@stonybrook.edu
URL: http://www.ece.sunysb.edu/~serge/

Dr Marco Mastrapasqua      contribution abstract
Agere Systems, Rm 10A-213A
1110 American Parkway
Leigh Valley Central Campus
Allentown, PA 18109US
TEL:    (610) 712-3907
email:  mastrapasqua@agere.com

Dr Vladimir Mitin
Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI 48202
TEL:    313-577-8944
FAX:    313-577-1101
email:    VMitin@ece.eng.wayne.edu

Dr Junichi Murota     contribution abstract
Professor
Res. Inst. Elec. Comm., Tohoku University,
2-1-1 Katahira, Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-8577, Japan.
Tel:    +81-22-217-5548
Fax:    +81-22-217-5548
e-mail:    murota@riec.tohoku.ac.jp
URL:     http://www.murota.riec.tohoku.ac.jp/lab/index.html

Dr Yoshio Nishi    contribution abstract
Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering
Director, Stanford Nanofabrication Facility
Stanford University
Stanford, California 94305-4070
email:    nishiy@stanford.edu

Dr Colin Nuckolls   contribution abstract
Assistant Professor
Columbia University
Department of Chemistry
Havemeyer Mail Code 3130
3000 Broadway
New York, NY 10027
TEL:    212-854-6289
FAX:    212-932-1289
email:    cn37@columbia.edu
web:  http://nuckolls.chem.columbia.edu/

Dr Alik Palevski          contribution abstract
Professor, School of Physics and Astronomy
Tel Aviv University
69978 Tel Aviv
Israel
TEL:    +972-3-640-9456
FAX:    +972-3-642-2979
email:    apalev@ccsg.tau.ac.il

Dr Yoon Soo Park
Program Consultant, Optoelectronics
Office of   Naval Research
800 North Quincy Street
Arlington, VA 22217-5660
Tel:    703-696-5755
Fax:    703-696-2611
e-mail:     parky@onr.navy.mil

Dr Mark Pinto    contribution abstract
Vice President & General Manager
Processing, Aggregation and Switching Division
Agere Systems
1110 American Parkway NE
Allentown, PA 18109
email:    pinto@agere.com

Dr. Daniel S. Purdy
Program Officer, Electronics Division, Code 312
Office of Naval Research
800 N. Quincy Street
Arlington, VA 22217-5660
TEL:    (703) 588-1920
FAX:    (703) 696-2611
email:    Daniel_Purdy@onr.navy.mil

Jelena Ristiç       cotribution abstract
ISOM and Dpt. Ingenieria Electronica
ETSI Telecomunicacion
Universidad Politecnica of Madrid
Ciudad Universitaria s/n
28040 Madrid, SPAIN
TEL:  34.91.549.5700 (x420)
FAX:  34.91.336.7323
email:   jelena@die.upm.es

Dr Fausto Rossi    contribution abstract
Professor and Direttore dell'Unita' di Ricerca INFM
Dipartimento di Fisica
Politecnico di Torino
Corso Duca degli Abruzzi 24
10129 Torino
Italy
TEL:   +39-011-564.7335
FAX:   +39-011-564.7399
email:     Fausto.Rossi@PoliTo.It
URL:     http://www.polito.it/research/NTL

Dr Hiroyuki Sakaki
Professor
Institute of Industrial Science
University of Tokyo
4-6-1 Komaba, Meguro-ku,
Tokyo, 153-8505, Japan
81- 3 - 5452 - 6233 (TEL/FAX) for my office
81- 3 - 5452 - 6234 (TEL only) for my office
81- 3 - 5452 - 6235 (TEL/FAX) for our lab
email:    sakaki@iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Dr. Miguel A. Sanchez-García    contribution abstract
ISOM and Dpt. Ingenieria Electronica
ETSI Telecomunicacion
Universidad Politecnica of Madrid
Ciudad Universitaria s/n
28040 Madrid, SPAIN
TEL:  34.91.549.5700 (x420)
FAX:  34.91.336.7323
email:  sanchez@die.upm.es

Dr Enrico Sangiorgi    contribution abstract
Professor, ARCES-DEIS
University of Bologna
Via Fontanelle 40
47100 Forli
Italy
email:    esangiorgi@deis.unibo.it

Dr Ron Schrimpf      contribution abstract
Professor
Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Department
5635 Stevenson Center
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37232
TEL:    615-343-0507
email:    ron.schrimpf@vanderbilt.edu
URL:    http://www.vuse.vanderbilt.edu/~schrimpf/

Dr Nadrian C Seeman  contribution abstract
Professor
Department of Chemistry
New York University
New York, NY 10003
USA
email:    ned.seeman@nyu.edu
URL:    http://seemanlab4.chem.nyu.edu/homepage.html

Dr Yacov Shamash
Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-2200
TEL:  (631) 632 8380
FAX:  (631) 632 8205
email:    Yacov.Shamash@sunysb.edu

Dr Vitaly Shchukin    contribution abstract
Technische Universität Berlin
Institut für Festkörperphysik
Hardenbergstraße 36
Sekr. PN 52
10623 Berlin
Germany
TEL:   +493031424263
FAX:   +493031422569
email:      shchukin@sol.physik.tu-berlin.de

Dr Boris I. Shklovskii  conribution abstract
A.S. Fine Chair in Theoretical Physics
Theoretical Physics Institute
School of Physics and Astronomy
University of Minnesota
116 Church Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
TEL:  (612) 626-0771
email:    shklovskii@physics.spa.umn.edu
URL:    http://www.tpi.umn.edu/shklovskii/

Dr Michael Shur     abstracts of contribution 1 (THz) and contribution 2 (Pyro) and contribution 3 (UV-LED)
Patricia W. and C. Sheldon Roberts'48 Professor
ECSE and Physics
Director, Center for Broadband Data Transport Science and Technology
Room 9017, CII, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
110 8-th Street, Troy, New York 12180-3590
TEL:   (518) 276-2201
FAX:   (518) 276-2990
Email: shurm@rpi.edu
URL:   http://nina.ecse.rpi.edu/shur/

Dr Theoren (Trey) P. Smith III   contribution abstract
Sector Manager
Science Applications International Corporation
1410 Springhill Road, Suite 400
McLean, VA 22102
TEL: (703) 288 5314
FAX: (703) 288 5401
email:    THEOREN.P.SMITH.III@saic.com

Dr Paul M. Solomon   contribution abstract
IBM T.J.Watson Research Center
P.O.Box 218
Yorktown Heights, NY 10598
TEL:    (914) 945 2841
FAX:    (914) 945 3623
email:    solomon@watson.ibm.com

Dr Abdelkader Souifi  contribution abstract
Professor
INSA de Lyon, Bat. 502
Laboratoire de Physique de la Matiere, UMR CNRS 5511
Silicon MicroNanoelectronics Group
20, Av. Albert Einstein
69 621 Villeurbanne cedex, FRANCE
TEL:  (33) 4 72 43 87 30
FAX:  (33) 4 72 43 60 82
e-mail:  souifi@insa.insa-lyon.fr

Dr Horst Stormer
Dept of Physics and Dept of Applied Physics
Columbia University
704 Pupin Hall (Mail Code 5255)
538 West 120th Street
New York, NY 10027
TEL:    +1-212-854-3279
FAX:    +1-212-854-3279
email:    horst@phys.columbia.edu

Room 1C-315, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies
700 Mountain Ave, Murray Hill, NJ 07974-0636
Phone: 908-582-3380, Fax: 908-582-3260
email:    horst@lucent.com
Dr Simon M. Sze     contribution abstract     Presentation viewgraphs
Member of National Academy of Engineering
President, National Nano Device Laboratories, NSC
1001-1, Ta-Hsueh Rd., Hsinchu, Taiwan 30050, R.O.C.
TEL:    +886-3-571-3079
FAX:    +886-3-573-5670
E-mail: simonsze@ndl.gov.tw

Dr. Mark S. Taylor
Associate Director, Materials Science
Office of Naval Research International Field Office
Edison House
223 Old Marylebone Road
London NW1 5TH
TEL:    44 (0)20 7514 4963
FAX:    44 (0)20 7723 6359
email:    mtaylor@onrifo.navy.mil
URL:    http://www.onrifo.navy.mil/

Dr Nikzad (Benny) Toomarian
Manager, Bio-Nano Technology Office
Life Detection Science & Technology Program
Jet Propulsion Laboratory,  MS 180-604
California Institute of Technology
4800 Oak Grove Dr.
Pasadena, Ca 91109
TEL:    818-354-7945
FAX:    818-393-5269
email:  nikzad.toomarian@jpl.nasa.gov

Dr Elias Towe         contribution abstract
Professor
Dept of Electrical and Computer Engnieering
Carnegie-Mellon University
Robert Engineering Hall, Rm 147
500 Forbes Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
TEL:    (412) 268 8091
email:        towe@cmu.edu

Dr Alessandro Tredicucci     contribution abstract
Assistant Professor
Scuola Normale Superiore
Via Della Faggiola, 17/19
I-56126 Pisa, Italy
TEL:    +39-050-50 94 24
email:    a.tredicucci@sns.it

Dr Henk Van Houten    contribution abstract
Vice President Philips Research
Philips Electronics Nederland B.V.
Prof. Holstlaan 4 (WB 5.57)
5656 AA Eindhoven, The Netherlands
TEL:  31 40 27 42769
FAX:  31 40 27 44335
e-mail:   henk.van.houten@philips.com

alternative address: Dr. Henk van Houten
Director Technical Physics and Chemistry - PRL- Aachen
Program Manager Devices and Microsystems
Philips Research Laboratories
Weisshaussstrasse 2
D-52066 Aachen, Germany
TEL:    + 49-241-6003-344
Secretary: Edith Krotz

Dr Claude Weisbuch    contribution abstract
Laboratoire de Physique de la Matière Condensée
Ecole Polytechnique, 91128 Palaiseau
France
TEL:   33 (0)1 69 33 39 59
FAX :  33 (0)1 69 33 30 04
email:    weisbuch@pmc.polytechnique.fr
URL:     http://pmc.polytechnique.fr/weisbuch

Dr Colin E.C. Wood
Office of Naval Research Code 312
800 N. Quincy St. Arlington, VA 22217
TEL:    (703) 696 4218
FAX:    (703) 696 2611
email:    WoodC@onr.navy.mil

Dr J. M. (Jimmy) Xu
Professor of Engineering & Professor of Physics
Division of Engineering, Box D
Brown University, 182 Hope St
Providence, RI 02912    USA
TEL:   (401) 863 1439
FAX:   (401) 863 9107
email: Jimmy_Xu@Brown.edu

Dr Eli Yablonovitch   contribution abstract
Director of the UCLA Nano-Electronics Laboratory
Room 66-147K, Engineering IV
UCLA Electrical Engineering Department
P. O. Box 951594
420 Westwood Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1594
TEL:  +1 (310)206-2240
FAX:  +1 (310)206-4685
E-mail:  eliy@ucla.edu
URL:    http://www.ee.ucla.edu/labs/photon

Dr Alexander Zaslavsky      contribution abstract
Div. of Engineering, Box D
Brown University
182 Hope St
Providence, RI 02912
TEL: (401) 863-1406
FAX: (401) 863-1157
email: Alexander_Zaslavsky@brown.edu

Dr Nikolai Zhitenev    contribution abstract
Bell Labs., Lucent Technologies
600 Mountain Ave., 1C-324
Murray Hill, NJ 07974
TEL:    (908)5824980
FAX:    (908)5824702
email:    zhiten@lucent.com

Dr Peter Zory      contribution abstract
Professor
University of Florida
Electrical & Computer Engineering Dept
133 Larsen Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611
TEL:    352-392-4962
FAX:    352-392-9266
email:    zory@ece.ufl.edu
 

return to FTM-4 HOME